| Digital Address: GA-107-3073 |

+233 302 666 049

+233 302 666 049

Post Office Box M232 | Ministries, Accra Ghana

Digital Address: GA-107-3073

National Biodiversity Steering Committee Inaugurated

The Minister for Environment, Science, Technology, and Innovation (MESTI), Prof. Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng, has inaugurated a 17-Member National Biodiversity Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee is to provide strategic leadership and make informed policy choices that will guide MESTI to effectively implement the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) and its Protocols.

Inaugurating the Committee, the Minister said mankind is part of biological diversity and must work to protect nature. He then called on the Committee to bring their expertise and knowledge to bear in providing policy direction to the government on the sustainable utilization of our natural resources.

The Chairman of the Committee, Prof. Alfred Oteng-Yeboah expressed gratitude for the opportunity and responsibility given to him and pledged to work in collaboration with members to achieve the objective of their mandate.

The Committee is co-chaired by the Chief Director of MESTI, Mrs. Cynthia Asare Bediako.

Names of Steering Committee;

  1. Mrs. Cynthia Asare Bediako,  Chief Director for MESTI                        Chairperson
  2. Prof. Alfred Oteng- Yeboah, University of Ghana                                    Co-Chairman
  3. Mr. Peter Dery, Director for Environment, MESTI                                 Member
  4. Mr. Copperfield Banini, Ministry of Food & Agriculture                        Member
  5. Mr. Raynold Quarshie, Ministry of Justice                                                Member
  6. Dr. Lawrence Misa Aboagye, CSIR                                                              Member
  7. Dr. Michael Osae,  GAEC                                                                               Member
  8. Mrs. Jewel Kudjawu, EPA                                                                              Member
  9. Prof. Eric Okoree, NBA                                                                                   Member
  10. Ms. Nada Ndahuma Tandoh, LUSPA                                                          Member
  11. Mr. Cudjoe Audi, Forestry Commission                                                      Member
  12. Mr. Emmanuel Kwame Dovlo, Fisheries Commission                             Member
  13. Madam Esi Biney, Water Resources Commission                                     Member
  14. Dr. Felix Addo-Yobo, NDPC                                                                           Member
  15. Prof. Francis K. E. Nunoo, University of Ghana                                         Member
  16. Dr. Yaw Osei-Owusu, Conservation Alliance                                              Member
  17. Mr. Joshua Awuku Appau, Earth Service                                                    Member